IBBME Annual Research Conference showcases student achievements and inspires collaboration

iARC 2018

Graduate student Rachel Reding shares her research at a poster presentation session during this year’s IBBME Annual Research Conference (iARC). 

May 31, 2018 | Story and photos by Luke Ng

On May 29, students from the U of T Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering (IBBME) hosted the 2018 IBBME Annual Research Conference (iARC) in the Isabel Bader Theatre at the University of Toronto’s Victoria College. This year marks the 34th occasion of the event, formerly known as Scientific Day.

Co-chaired by PhD students Buddhisha Udugama and Liangcheng Henry Xu, this year’s event hosted more than 300 IBBME community members who attended throughout the day.

“iARC is a great event because it gives students a chance to showcase their research and build collaborations,” said Udugama. “We also host international speakers so it is a great opportunity to not only see what is going on in the Institute, but what is also going on around the world.”

iARC 2018

IBBME director Warren Chan gives welcome remarks with iARC co-chair Buddhisha Udugama in the background.

The theme for this year was Biomedical Engineering for Global Health and featured MIT professor James Collins as the Edward Llewellyn-Thomas Distinguished Lecturer, who gave an engaging talk about his team’s synthetic biology research and its therapeutic applications.

iARC 2018

MIT professor James Collins was this year’s Edward Llewellyn-Thomas Distinguished Speaker.

The Innovations in Emerging Fields of Research keynote was U of T chemical engineering professor and Centre for Global Engineering director Yu-Ling Cheng, who spoke about her team’s global efforts in the Reinvent the Toilet Challenge, an initiative supported by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

iARC 2018

iARC co-chair Henry Xu thanks Professor Yu-Ling Cheng for sharing her impact on global engineering through the Reinvent the Toilet Challenge.

New for this year, an industry speaker was introduced and featured Walter Narajowski of LabDx LLC who shared his career path on moving from research into senior management roles in the corporate world.

iARC 2018

Biomedical Engineering Students’ Association (BESA) president and iARC 2018 master of ceremonies Chaim Katz with industry speaker Walter Narajowski.

View additional iARC photos captured by PhD candidate Ben Ouyang and other students here.

Also new for this year, the iARC student information technology team developed an algorithm to more quickly tabulate podium and poster presentation judging scores. Winners were announced by the end of the final keynote address.

Members of the iARC information technology team run podium and poster presentation judging scores through their algorithm.

“I hope that students are inspired by this year’s event and continue to volunteer to organize it,” said Udugama. “I would also like to thank this year’s sponsors, Qiagen and U of T Medicine by Design, for supporting us.”

iARC Podium, Poster and BME 1010/1011 Graduate Student Seminar Presentation Winners

iARC 2018

Group photo with podium, poster and BME 1010/1011 Graduate Student Seminar presentations winners for 2017-2018 awarded by IBBME director Warren Chan.

BME 1010/1011 Graduate Student Seminar Presentation Winners 2017-2018
  • Sarah House
  • Rachel Redding
Podium Presentations
  • Winner: Ryan Koh
  • Runner-Up: Nathan Soucier
Poster Presentations
Theme: Biomaterials, Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine
  • Winner: Agnes Soos
  • Runner-Up: Meghan Wright
Theme: Engineering in a Clinical Setting
  • Winner: Jirapat Likitlersuang
  • Runner-Up: Shumit Saha
Theme: Nanotechnology, Molecular Imaging and Systems Biology
  • Winner: William Cameron
  • Runner-Up: Adriano Vissa
Theme: Neural, Sensory Systems and Rehabilitation
  • Winner: Silviu Agotici
  • Runner-Up: Luka Milosevic

Additional Select Photos from iARC 2018

  iARC 2018